By Jozsef Huszar • Updated: October 23, 2026
Finding the best online checking accounts starts with the fees, not the sign-up pitch. We checked seven checking products from six FDIC-insured banks on October 23, 2026, and every number below comes from the providers’ own pages and fee documents, with no promotions or sign-up bonuses included, so you see the everyday price. A quick reminder of the basics lives in our guide to overdraft and NSF fees; this article is the practical companion, with real costs for a defined monthly routine.
Quick comparison of online checking account fees
Table 1 shows the sticker price: the monthly fee, how each account handles ATMs, and what happens when you spend more than you have. Start with the first column. Six of the seven accounts charge no monthly fee at all, so the differences are hiding in the other two columns.
| Provider | Monthly fee | ATM fees | Overdraft / NSF |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ally Bank Spending Account | $0 | No U.S. ATM fees; up to $10 per cycle reimbursed for other ATMs’ fees | $0 overdraft; no NSF fee listed |
| Capital One 360 Checking | $0 | No fee at Capital One, MoneyPass and Allpoint ATMs; no Capital One fee elsewhere, but operator fees may apply | $0 overdraft; $0 NSF |
| Charles Schwab Bank Investor Checking | $0 | Unlimited ATM fee rebates worldwide | $0 overdraft; no fee for checks returned for insufficient funds |
| SoFi Bank Checking and Savings | $0 | No fee at Allpoint ATMs; operator fees may apply elsewhere | $0 overdraft; NSF not listed |
| Axos Bank Checking | $0 | Unlimited domestic ATM fee reimbursements, subject to account terms | $0 overdraft; NSF not confirmed |
| Axos Bank ONE Checking | $0 | Up to $10 per month in domestic ATM fee reimbursements | $0 overdraft; $0 NSF |
| Chase Total Checking | $15, waived if one listed condition is met | $3 own fee per out-of-network withdrawal† | $34 per event† |
† Not stated in the Chase excerpt we reviewed; figure pending confirmation against Chase’s fee schedule.
The takeaway: Chase is the only row with a monthly fee ($15, or $180 a year) and the only one with a per-event overdraft charge. The other six show $0 overdraft fees. Where a table cell says “not listed” or “not confirmed”, we count it as $0 below and tell you so.
How we chose these accounts and what FDIC-insured means here
We included a checking product only if it met three rules: the bank is FDIC-insured, the numbers come from its own fee documentation, and we can state a base fee without promotions or sign-up bonuses. Discover’s debit account is out because it no longer accepts new applications after the Capital One acquisition in May 2025.
Every provider in Table 1 says it is a Member FDIC bank, so deposits are insured up to the standard limit (our FDIC coverage explainer covers the details). In practice, that lets you shortlist from this list without worrying about whether your money is protected. Before you open anything, confirm two things: the legal bank name on the application matches the insured entity, and the certificate number shows up on FDIC BankFind. Two minutes of checking beats assuming, and it protects you if a brand name differs from the bank that actually holds your deposits.
One more note on scope. Chase is a branch-based bank, so we include it as a reference point rather than a pure online pick. It shows what a traditional fee structure costs next to the online accounts.
What a typical ATM and overdraft profile looks like
Costs only mean something with a routine attached. Our profile is deliberately simple: you withdraw cash at an ATM outside your bank’s free network twice a month, the machine’s owner charges an assumed $3 per withdrawal, and you come up short on your balance three times a year. Each shortfall triggers whatever fee the bank lists.
In everyday terms, that is a person who mostly pays by card but grabs cash a couple of times a month and occasionally mistimes a bill. That is an illustration, not a statistical average. If you never touch cash, your cost drops toward zero on every account. If you withdraw cash weekly, multiply the ATM column by roughly two. You do not need a spreadsheet for this. A few lines of arithmetic will do it: withdrawals per month times $3 gives the operator charges, then subtract any reimbursement cap. We held all fees constant for the full period, with no inflation and no fee changes.
What it costs in real life
Table 2 applies the profile above to each account, assuming you meet every account condition and keep the account for 1, 5 and 10 years. Look at the 10-year column first, because small monthly charges only become visible when they add up.
| Provider | ATM cost per month | Overdraft / NSF per year | Total per year | 1 year | 5 years | 10 years |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ally Bank Spending Account | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Capital One 360 Checking | $6 | $0 | $72 | $72 | $360 | $720 |
| Charles Schwab Bank Investor Checking | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| SoFi Bank Checking and Savings | $6 | $0 | $72 | $72 | $360 | $720 |
| Axos Bank Checking | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Axos Bank ONE Checking | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Chase Total Checking | $12 | $102 | $246 | $246 | $1,230 | $2,460 |
Four accounts cost nothing under this routine, which is the main finding of the whole comparison. Ally’s $10-per-cycle reimbursement covers the $6 of operator charges, and the two Axos accounts and Schwab reimburse or rebate ATM fees. Capital One and SoFi land at $72 a year, or $720 over 10 years, because both say operator fees may apply outside their free networks. Chase sits at $246 a year and $2,460 over a decade, about 3.4 times the $72 of Capital One and SoFi. That gap is $1,740 over 10 years, and it falls on anyone who uses outside ATMs and occasionally overdraws.
The Axos Checking row assumes no NSF fee, because the source did not confirm one. Check its fee schedule before relying on that $0.
What happens if you miss the conditions
Table 2 assumed you meet every condition. Table 3 asks what changes if you do not. Here the only monthly fee on the list is Chase’s $15, which applies if you miss every waiver route, and the last column adds it to the typical-use cost from Table 2.
| Provider | Monthly fee if conditions are missed | Extra cost per year | 1 year | 5 years | 10 years | Worst case over 10 years (typical use + penalty) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ally Bank Spending Account | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Capital One 360 Checking | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $720 |
| Charles Schwab Bank Investor Checking | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| SoFi Bank Checking and Savings | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $720 |
| Axos Bank Checking | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Axos Bank ONE Checking | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Chase Total Checking | $15 | $180 | $180 | $900 | $1,800 | $4,260 |
Chase waives its fee if you meet one of three conditions: electronic deposits of $500 or more per month, a $1,500 daily balance, or $5,000 combined with linked Chase accounts. Miss all three and the fee adds $1,800 over 10 years, which pushes the worst case to $4,260. The other six accounts list no monthly fee to trigger, so for them the worst case equals Table 2: $0 for Ally, Schwab and both Axos accounts, and $720 for Capital One and SoFi. Seeing those zeros is useful in itself, because it shows these providers carry no fee-switch risk.
Two caveats. Schwab requires a linked Schwab One brokerage account, and SoFi ties fee-free overdraft coverage to direct deposit. We did not put a dollar value on either because the sources did not state one, so confirm both before applying.
Which one fits you
The right account depends on how you actually bank, and no single row wins for everyone. Here is a direction for four common situations, each tied to a number from the tables above, so you can find yourself and decide.
You use outside ATMs regularly. Charles Schwab Bank Investor Checking offers unlimited ATM fee rebates worldwide, and Axos Bank Checking offers unlimited domestic reimbursements subject to its terms. Both showed $0 in Table 2. Ally also stayed at $0, but its reimbursement stops at $10 per cycle. At our assumed $3 surcharge, that covers three withdrawals a month.
You overdraw once in a while. Capital One 360 Checking lists $0 for both overdraft and NSF fees, though its No-Fee Overdraft requires opt-in. Axos ONE Checking also shows $0 for both. Either keeps a surprise shortfall from adding a charge.
You want the lowest cost with no strings. Ally Bank Spending Account has no monthly fee, no overdraft fee and $0 in Table 2 with no linked account required, based on the sources we reviewed.
You want checking and investing in one place. Schwab’s account is built around a linked Schwab One brokerage account, and its Table 2 total is $0. If you do not want that link, pick another row.
Bottom line: for most people the choice comes down to ATM habits. If you pull cash from outside networks, choose an account that reimburses fees rather than one that merely avoids charging its own. Chase’s $246 a year in our profile is the cost of staying with a branch network, and it is worth paying only if you value the branches.
What we did not cover
We excluded sign-up bonuses, promotional offers and “up to” rates, plus relationship tiers that change fees for customers with large balances. We also left out international transaction fees (Ally lists up to 1%), foreign ATM costs beyond the stated surcharge, wire fees, paper check fees and out-of-state cash deposit charges. Discover is excluded because it stopped accepting new applications. If a number is not in Table 1, assume we did not verify it.
FAQ
How much would I pay at an out-of-network ATM?
Under our profile, the machine’s owner charges an assumed $3 per withdrawal. Ally, Schwab and the Axos accounts reimburse or rebate that charge. Capital One and SoFi leave it to you, which works out to $6 a month for two withdrawals. Chase adds its own $3 on top (pending confirmation).
Does a $0 overdraft fee mean I can overdraw freely?
No. It means that bank lists no overdraft charge, not that the transaction always goes through. A declined payment can still cost you a late fee or a missed bill elsewhere. Check how each bank treats declined purchases before you rely on it.
Which account is cheapest if I never use ATMs?
Six of the seven have no monthly fee, so with no ATM use, your cost is mostly the overdraft column. Only Chase shows a per-event overdraft charge ($34 per event, pending confirmation). The rest showed $0.
How do I avoid Chase’s $15 monthly fee?
Meet one of its listed conditions: $500 or more in electronic deposits each month, a $1,500 daily balance, or $5,000 combined with linked Chase accounts. If you cannot hit any of them reliably, Table 3 shows the penalty adds $180 a year.
How often do these numbers change?
Banks can change fees at any time. Our figures reflect October 23, 2026, and we plan to recheck monthly. Before you open an account, compare the live fee schedule to Table 1.
Methodology and last update
We reviewed each bank’s fee page or account disclosure on October 23, 2026, and recomputed every cost in this article from those figures. We plan to refresh the article monthly. This article is informational and is not personalized financial advice, so check each bank’s current terms before you decide.

